2016 Jack Layton Labour Post-Secondary Scholarship


Two ONG members nominated for journalism awards



A pair of Citizen journalists have been nominated for reporting awards sponsored by the Canadian Association of Journalists.

Glen McGregor and Robert Sibley have been nominated for their work on the Senate expenses scandal and for coverage of last year’s fatal bus/train crash respectively. McGregor’s nomination is in the open media category while Sibley has been nominated in the daily excellence division.

Winners will be announced May 10 at an awards gala in Ottawa.

Call for Submissions for the Canadian Hillman Prize in Journalism


Call for Submissions for the

Canadian Hillman Prize in Journalism

Postmark Deadline January 9, 2014


4th Annual Prize Honours Excellence in Journalism

In Service of the Common Good

The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Canadian Hillman Prize honouring excellence in journalism in service of the common good. The Hillman Prize seeks out the best investigative reporting that draws attention to social or economic injustice and hopefully leads to corrective measures. We strive to recognize discernment of a significant news story, resourcefulness and courage in reporting, skill in relating the story and the impact of the coverage.
The 2014 prize will be given to a reported piece or series produced, published, broadcast or exhibited in 2013. Eligible entries include reporting in newspapers, magazines and online, as well as film and broadcast journalism (television and radio), and multi-media. The contest is open to journalists and subjects globally, although the content must have been published in Canada. The postmark deadline for submissions is January 9, 2014.

The winner(s) of the Canadian Hillman Prize will be announced in mid-March and awarded travel to receive a certificate and a $5,000 prize at a reception to be held on Tuesday April 1, 2014 in Toronto. The winner will also get to travel to New York City to participate in the U.S. awards ceremony to be held May 6, 2014. The Canadian winner will be listed among all Hillman Prize winners on the Hillman Foundation website.

There is no submission fee. A cover letter and four copies of the nominated material are all that is required.

This year’s entries will be judged by a distinguished panel ofCanadian judges: Tony Burman, previously managing director of Al Jazeera English, chief news editor of CBC News, and currently Toronto Star world affairs columnist, Fiona Reid, acclaimed theatre actress and Vice President of the Actors’ Fund of Canada and Bonnie Brown, a journalist who has worked as a television documentary producer and radio news producer at CBC for 15 years.


Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honoured journalists, writers and public figures who pursue social justice and public policy for the common good. Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union of America, a predecessor union of Workers United, SEIU. Sidney Hillman, an architect of the New Deal, fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of workers’ lives.


“In each of the three years the Canadian Hillman Prize has been awarded we have been exposed to the tenacity, hard work and creativity of Canadian journalists who are unflinchingly committed to exposing injustice and seeing it corrected,” said Alex Dagg,Director of Operations, National Hockey League Players Association (NHLPA) and member of the board of directors of the Sidney Hillman Foundation. “Reflecting on the past year’s news, we anticipate a tough decision by our judging panel, which means Canadian media are doing it right.”


Please forward all nominations/submissions to:

Annie Hennessey

Media Profile

500-579 Richmond Street West
Toronto, Ontario

M5V 1Y6



For more information and to see past winners, please visit the website at www.hillmanfoundation.org.